Friday, June 6, 2014

A Season of Change: Seasons in Pinecraft by Lynette Sowell Book Review

 In A Season of Change, book one of Lynette Sowell's new series, Seasons of Pinecraft, readers will discover a different side of the Amish community. A Season of Change follows Natalie and Amish widower Jacob Miller as they each discover the mysterious ways God works. Inspired by the image of a Plain woman sitting on a three-wheeled bicycle by the Pinecraft (an Amish community in Florida) post office, Sowell’s latest is a new take on the popular trend in fiction.

Lynette is celebrating with a Kindle Fire HDX giveaway and a Facebook author chat party on June 12th.

One winner will receive:
  • A Kindle Fire HDX
  • A Season of Change by Lynette Sowell
Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on June 12th. Winner will be announced at the A Season of Change Facebook author chat party on June 12th. Connect with Lynette for an evening of fun book chat, Amish-themed trivia, and prizes. Lynette will also be answering audience questions and giving an exclusive look at the next book in the Seasons of Pinecraft series!

So grab your copy of A Season of Change and join Lynette on the evening of June 12th for a chance to connect and make some new friends. (If you haven't read the book, don't let that stop you from coming!)

Don't miss a moment of the fun; RSVP todayTell your friends via FACEBOOK or TWITTER and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on the 12th!

My Thoughts:

This is the first book that I have read by Lynette Sowell and it won’t be the last book that I read from her. I like it when an Amish fiction writer can make the story completely unique and different from other Amish authors and yet not lose the whole Amish feel to a book. With all the Amish fiction I read I find that a lot of the books have the same storyline. Sometimes, I get tired of Amish fiction even though I always find myself reading another one and another one after that. A Season of Change broke away from the normal storyline without losing the Amish feel to the book. It was very refreshing and I enjoyed it tremendously. I am not even a circus fan!

At first the book started out a bit slow. I was drawn in by the characters from the first page.

Jacob is a man who is still grieving the loss of his wife and newborn child. Jacob has questions that he shouldn’t ask within his community. He decides to take his family on a vacation to Pinecraft, Florida to visit family. His two week vacation turns into tragedy after his daughter is hit by a car and is recovering in the hospital.

Jacob is a typical old order Amish man with a quiet disposition and a kind heart. Jacob is a man who is devoted to God, family and to the Amish. Then he meets Natalie the clown who delights his children during difficult times. Natalie catches his eyes too.

Natalie is a Christian believer who recently found out that she has Amish roots after her mother passed away. Jacob offers to help her on her search for her mother’s heritage.

The setting of Pinecraft, Florida was refreshing. Reading this book makes me want to pack my bags and go on a vacation there. That is easier said than done. I will have to wait to visit Pinecraft, Florida in the next book in this series.

I would recommend this book as it was a wonderful story that I didn’t want to end.

Litfuse Publicity Group has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. In no way was I asked to give a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love comments! Thank you for visiting my blog.


Related Posts with Thumbnails


Protected by Copyscape Web Plagiarism Detection

Total Pageviews

  © Blogger templates The Professional Template by

Back to TOP